Home Hurling Club Hurling Camross off to winning start with impressive win over Kyle

Camross off to winning start with impressive win over Kyle

The new fixtures for the hurling championships are here

Brought to you in association with Telfords, Portlaoise and Mountrath

Camross 0-18 Kyle 0-9
Laois Shopping Centre JHC ‘B’ Round 1

Camross have lost the last three Laois JHC ‘B’ finals and they made an impressive start in their bid to right that wrong this year with a good win over neighbours Kyle in Ballaghmore this morning.

Robbie Delaney top scored with ten points for Camross while Daniel Delaney scored four points from play from midfield and Niall Bennett and Tomas Keyes caused plenty of problems for the Kyle defence.

Having won this grade in 2018, Kyle were relegated last season but will be hoping to be in the mix again.

Camross got their noses in front early on and were 0-7 to 0-2 up the break, and it would have been more were it not for a couple of great saves from Kyle keeper Eamon Fletcher.

Kevin O’Grady, Conal Nevin and Conor Quinlan kept Kyle in touch in the second quarter but Camross’s young forwards were on top and they led 0-10 to 0-5 at the break.

Robbie Delaney added two points after the break but a Conor Quinlan free and two from Nevin had the gap down to four by the time the sides broke for the second-half water break.

Camross duly took over in the final 15 minutes with Daniel and Robbie Delaney and Niall Bennett all on target, with only a late effort from sub Francis Harte in response as Camross had plenty to spare in the end.

Camross will now play The Harps in their second group game while Kyle will travel to play Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe. The Harps were big winners over Park-Ratheniska/Timahoe in the other game in this group on Saturday evening.

Elsewhere in this grade, Portlaoise beat Mountmellick on Saturday in the other group while Ballinakill and Rathdowney-Errill meet this evening.

SCORERS – Camross: Robbie Delaney 0-10 (six frees), Daniel Delaney 0-4, Niall Bennett 0-2, Cillian Tiernan 0-1, Tomas Keyes 0-1. Kyle: Conal Nevin 0-3 (two frees), Kevin O’Grady 0-2, Conor Quinlan (free) 0-2, Francis Harte 0-1, Eoin Quinlan 0-1

CAMROSS: Niall Cuddy; Mark Conroy, Oliver Conroy, Thomas Palmer; Damien Ryan, Alan Bergin, Tadhg Drennan; Daniel Delaney, Paddy Burke; Tomas Keyes, James O’Keeffe, Cillian Tiernan; Niall Bennett, Robert Delaney, Daniel Delaney. Sub: Tomas Brinkley for O’Keeffe (40), Shane Dooley for Tiernan (53)

KYLE: Eamon Fletcher; Cronan Murphy, Barry O’Grady, Adrian Morrissey; Niall Delaney, Conor Quinlan, Stephen Clarke; Robert Phelan, Kevin O’Grady; Darragh Morrissey, Paul Scully, Eoin Quinlan; Darren Clavin-Morrissey, Donal Ward, Conal Nevin. Subs: Paul Maher for Clavin-Morrissey (HT), Francis Harte for Ward (HT)

REFEREE: JJ Gorman (Clough-Ballacolla)

SEE ALSO – The Harps hold off Camross to get off to winning start in Premier IHC