Home Sport GAA 45 players nominated for LaoisToday premier intermediate club hurling team of the...

45 players nominated for LaoisToday premier intermediate club hurling team of the year

Finalists The Harps and Portlaoise lead the way in our list of nominations for our 2020 Laois premier intermediate club hurling team of the year.

While the championship has yet to be completed, we have selected 45 nominations from the games that were played in 2020, including the group stages, semi-finals and relegation final.

Portlaoise and The Harps have eight players each while semi-finalists Camross and Slieve Bloom have six each.

Ballyfin and Clonaslee have five each, Colt-Shanahoe have four and the relegated Mountrath have three.

The Laois final was due to be played last October but the GAA cancelled all club activity on the Monday before Portlaoise and The Harps were fixed to play.

It is hoped that the 2020 final will be played in June this year before the start of the 2021 championship, however, there is no definite timeline on when the intercounty game will return or if club or county will go first.

You can check out our full list of nominations below – and we will be whittling that down to 15 and unveiling our team of the year selection on Monday.

Goalkeepers (3)

  • Gavin Conroy (Slieve Bloom)
  • Tadhg Doran (Camross)
  • Darragh Hiney (Colt-Shanahoe)

Backs (18)

  • David Doheny (The Harps)
  • Conor Dunne (The Harps)
  • Podge Delaney (The Harps)
  • Frank Flanagan (Portlaoise)
  • Chris Lynch (Portlaoise)
  • Ciaran McEvoy (Portlaoise)
  • Shane Farrell (Slieve Bloom)
  • Tom Delaney (Slieve Bloom)
  • John Lowry (Slieve Bloom)
  • Rob Tyrrell (Camross)
  • Dan Delaney (Camross)
  • Will Young (Clonaslee)
  • Liam Senior (Clonaslee)
  • James Finn (Ballyfin)
  • Allan Connolly (Ballyfin)
  • Henry Keyes (Colt-Shanahoe)
  • Gearoid Williams (Mountrath)
  • James Tobin (Mountrath)

Midfielders (6)

  • Ciaran Burke (The Harps)
  • Cian Taylor (Portlaoise)
  • Joe Ryan (Camross)
  • John Rowney (Clonaslee)
  • David Connolly (Ballyfin)
  • James Keyes (Colt-Shanahoe)

Forwards (18)

  • Ciaran Comerford (The Harps)
  • Daniel Comerford (The Harps)
  • Micheal Lanigan (The Harps)
  • Philip Russell (The Harps)
  • Tommy Fitzgerald (Portlaoise)
  • Aaron Bergin (Portlaoise)
  • Eddie Critchley (Portlaoise)
  • Cormac Rigney (Portlaoise)
  • Ben Conroy (Slieve Bloom)
  • Ciaran Conroy (Slieve Bloom)
  • Tomas Keyes (Camross)
  • Darren Gilmartin (Camross)
  • DJ O’Callaghan (Clonaslee)
  • Bob Downey (Clonaslee)
  • Eamon Duff (Ballyfin)
  • Darragh Connolly (Ballyfin)
  • Rhian Bergin (Colt-Shanahoe)
  • Gavin Sydes (Mountrath)

SEE ALSO – Introducing the 2020 LaoisToday senior club hurling team of the year

Previous articlePetition launched in bid to have footpath constructed near Laois school
Next articleRory’s Stories on kicking points in Kilcavan and Killeshin bouncing castles