Home Sport GAA Incredible drama as Cuddy’s injury time strike breaks Abbeyleix hearts and claims...

Incredible drama as Cuddy’s injury time strike breaks Abbeyleix hearts and claims third minor for Camross

Camross 1-10 Abbeyleix 0-12
Laois MHC ‘A’ Final

Camross claimed just their third ever Laois Minor hurling title following a dramatic last gasp win over Abbeyleix in O’Moore Park this evening.

James Cuddy was their hero as his goal in the second minute of injury time – Camross’ only score from play in the entire match – was the difference.

Abbeyleix were going for their second title in a row and looked odds on until Eoghan Cuddy broke forward in the final minute of added time and although his shot was blocked, referee Anthony Costigan subsequently awarded a free.

The prolific Ben Deegan shot for goal from 13 metres and it was stopped on the line but Cuddy pounced first to ram home the winner.

Abbeyleix, who had come from five points down, desperately sought an equalising score but time ran out and they were left heartbroken.

The first half was devoid of real attacking action and incredibly finished without a score from play.

The only real goalmouth action from either team came in the ninth minute when Abbeyleix’s Cormac Byrne picked out Tally Hassett but Camross keeper Rick Bannon produced a fine save.

After that, it was a free taking contest with Camross’ Ben Deegan and Abbeyleix’s Colin Byrne duelling.

Camross led 0-4 to 0-3 at the water break with full back Cathal Cuddy break up the Deegan and Byrne scorefest to land a free from his own.

Byrne levelled it up on the resumption but Camross scored the last five points of the half through Deegan to lead 0-9 to 0-4 at half time.

Abbeyleix turned with the breeze at their backs and took just 37 seconds to score the first point from play of the game via Liam Kavanagh.

Another Byrne free and a wonderful sideline cut from Eli Quinn followed to narrow the deficit to two after 40 minutes.

And we were level a minute later as Colin Byrne tapped over his sixth which was quickly followed by Liam Kavanagh’s second from play.

Abbeyleix weren’t finished there as Cormac Byrne won a free which was converted by older brother Colin and then set him up from play to leave it 0-11 to 0-9 at the second water break.

Camross finally opened their second half account through Deegan but Colin Byrne quickly maintained Abbeyleix’s two point lead with his ninth of the evening.

Neither team scored again until the second minute of injury time when Camross grabbed their only score from play in the entire game.

SCORERS – Camross: Ben Deegan 0-9 (all frees), James Cuddy 1-0, Cathal Cuddy 0-1 (free) Abbeyleix: Colin Byrne 0-9 (six frees, one 65), Liam Kavanagh 0-2, Eli Quinn 0-1

CAMROSS: Rick Bannon; Scott Coyle, Cathal Cuddy, Conor Mortimer; Aaron Carroll, Tom Cuddy, Josh Hynes; Robert Lalor, Ryan Cuddy; Ben Deegan, Kevin Byrne, Emmet Bergin; Eoghan Cuddy, James Cuddy, Shane Higgins. Subs: Dara Breen for Mortimer (45)

ABBEYLEIX: Lee Cole; Conor Dooley, Ross Coffey, Tom O’Keefe; Dara Phelan, Adrian Dunne, Kyle Mullen; Darren Mulhall, Killian Byrne; Jack Finlay, Liam Kavanagh, Eli Quinn; Tally Hassett, Colin Byrne, Cormac Byrne. Subs: Gavin Kelly for Hassett (54)

REFEREE: Anthony Costigan (Rathdowney-Errill)

SEE ALSO – Two Laois stories selected for landmark GAA grassroots book

Previous articleTimahoe find scoring form to book IFC semi-final place
Next articleDeaths in Laois – Saturday, October 2, 2021
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.