Home News Community In Pictures: Laois Garda station receive brand new life-saving defibrillator

In Pictures: Laois Garda station receive brand new life-saving defibrillator

Mountmellick Garda Station Defibrillator (1)

Gardai in Mountmellick were presented with a new life-saving Radian defibrillator recently.

Ciaran O’Mahony of O’Mahony Safety Solutions, Mountmellick Voluntary Housing Committee and Mountmellick Credit Union all came together to get the essential piece of equipment.

This is the second time in recent months that a defibrillator has been installed in the town. 

Back in July, Mick Fitzpatrick of Fitzpatrick Construction sponsored one for Mountmellick United soccer club in Conor Davis Park.

Ciaran O’Mahony recently presented the defibrillator to Sergeant Mick O’Connell at Mountmellick Garda station with a number of local Gardai present.

Also present were Cllr Paddy Bracken, Frances O’Loughlin of the Voluntary Housing Committee and James Sexton who helped initiate the project.

Ciaran O’Mahony gave a demonstration of how the defibrillator works before presenting it to Sergeant O’Connell.

The Laois Garda said that this device would be a great asset to all of the people in Mountmellick.

This defibrillator can be accessed 24 hours a day at Mountmellick Garda Station.

Mountmellick Garda Station Defibrillator (1) Mountmellick Garda Station Defibrillator (1)

SEE ALSO – Two men arrested following terrifying ordeal for elderly men while Gardai also seize €62,000 of drugs in Laois town

Previous articleAll the latest golf results from around the county with some great pictures from The Heath
Next articleWaiting time for essential children’s services greatly decreased in Laois after HSE employ agency staff
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.