Home Hurling Club Hurling Dramatic comeback sees Ballinakill past Cullion and into Leinster quarter final

Dramatic comeback sees Ballinakill past Cullion and into Leinster quarter final

Ballinakill celebrations

Ballinakill 3-12 Cullion 3-11 (Westmeath) 
Leinster Intermediate Hurling Championship Round 1 

Ballinakill produced a dramatic revival to see off Cullion of Westmeath and advance to the Leinster quarter finals.

They trailed by six points at various stages in the game but, despite being without injured talisman Cha Dwyer, they never gave up.

Paul Simms’ penalty save ten minutes from time proved crucial while Cathal O’Shaugnessy struck for a goal right near the end that turned the game their way.

They will now host Glenmore of Kilkenny next weekend in a bid to reach the semi finals.

Cullion started like a house on fire with Jack Galvin and Brian Stones finding the net in the opening quarter.

Seamus Fitzpatrick responded with a green flag but the Laois men trailed 2-3 to 1-4 at the first water break.

Ballinakill were better in the second quarter as Seamus Fitzpatrick struck for a second goal that left it 2-7 to 2-6 at half time.

Cullion held the lead and the extended it to sixth after 35 minutes as Eoin Fox rattled in the game’s fifth goal.

Dan Bergin and Mark Kehoe brought Ballinakill back into it but they still trailed by four at the second water break.

Cullion had the chance to kill the game after 50 minutes when Brian Stones was fouled for a penalty but Jack Galvin’s effort was brilliant saved by Paul Simms.

That spurred on Ballinakill and Seamus Fitzpatrick landed two frees before O’Shaughnessy struck for the goal that won it.

SCORERS – Ballinakill: Seamus Fitzpatrick 2-3 (two frees), Cathal O’Shaughnessy 1-0, Sean Downey (one free), TJ Lalor and Eddie Dwyer 0-2 each, Mark Kehoe, Dan Bergin and Ian Shanahan 0-1 each. Cullion: Jack Galvin 1-5 (one sideline), Jack Gillen 0-4 (three frees), Eoin Fox and Brian Stones 1-0 each, Rob Gillen 0-2

BALLINAKILL: Paul Simms; Noel Duggan, Brian O’Mara, Mark Kehoe; Ian Shanahan, Sean Downey, Michael Moran; Dylan Byrne Gray, Padraig Lawlor; Jamie Drury, Seamus Fitzpatrick, Cian O’Shaughnessy; Evan Dunne, Eddie Dwyer, TJ Lalor. Subs: Cathal O’Shuaghnessy for Dylan Byrne Gray (41), Dan Bergin for Jamie Drury (47), Shane McEvoy for Cian O’Shuaghnessy (56)

CULLION: Damien Golden; Pierce Shaw, James Clarke, Stephen Bourke; Conor Gilhooley, Conor Regan, Andrew Connaughton; Rob Gillen, Shane Broughan; Eoin Fox, James Kelly, Brian O’Reilly; Jack Gillen, Brian Stones, Jack Galvin. Subs: Sean Regan for Shan Broughan (44)

Referee: Conor Daly (Kildare)

SEE ALSO – In Pictures: Tributes paid as Laois woman brings four decade career of helping others to an end

Previous articleStunning first quarter blitz sees Portloaise claim Junior Camogie title
Next articleCamross survive a late St Brigid’s scare to reclaim Intermediate Camogie championship once more