Home GAA Camogie Mountrath Community School all set for Leinster Schools Senior ‘B’ camogie championship...

Mountrath Community School all set for Leinster Schools Senior ‘B’ camogie championship final

Mountrath Community School’s Senior Camogie team are set to take their place in the Leinster Senior ‘B’ final this weekend.

Four Laois camogie clubs make up this team – Camross, Naomh Eamann, Portlaoise and Clonad.

While they are trained by Antrim native Ms Orla Donnelly and Tipperary woman Ms Anne-Marie O’Connor.

The team started off their Leinster campaign in the group stages against Borris Vocational School where they emerged victorious from a tight affair by two points.

Three weeks later in their second group game came their first meeting with their opponents of this Saturday – Coláiste Bhríde Carnew.

Mountrath CS won that early game comfortably and as a final group game against Bunclody never materialised, Mountrath CS topped the group.

November 30 saw the girls play Trim at home in the Leinster quarter final.

This ferocious game of camogie was level after 60 minutes and the sides could not be separated after an additional 20 minutes, so a replay lay ahead on Christmas week.

A trek to Trim for the replay on December 20 saw Mountrath CS secure their place in the Leinster semi-Final.

The Leinster semi-final took the girls to Graigunamanagh on January 10.

Our Lady of Lourdes, Rosbercon were no match for the strong MCS side on the day and the girls had a strong win over the Wexford side – 7-12 to 3-4.

Mountrath CS is proudly captained by Aileen O’Neill (Portlaoise) with vice-captain Leanne Dowling (Camross).

The team will play Coláiste Bhríde, Carnew in Castlecomer Community School at 12pm on Saturday.

Best of luck to all!

PANEL: Caoimhe Williams (Naomh Eamann), Sarah Cuddy (Camross), Annabelle Ryan (Camross), Aileen O’Neill (Portlaoise) (C), Lorna Phelan (Naomh Eamann), Katelyn Shore (Naomh Eamann), Leanne Dowling (Camross), Leah Daly (Camross), Aoibheann Phelan-Dalton (Portlaoise), Gráinne Delaney (Camross), Karla Whelan (Naomh Eamann), Ali Cuddy (Camross), Aimee Byrne (Naomh Eamann), Eireann Cole (Naomh Eamann), Caoimhe Cuddy (Naomh Eamann), Kate Phelan (Naomh Eamann), Anna Phelan (Naomh Eamann), Louise Bergin (Camross), Tara Lowry (Camross), Laura Phelan (Naomh Eamann), Hannah Kearney (Naomh Eamann), Ava Guilfoyle (Camross), Aoife Cuddy (Naomh Eamann), Aoife Daly (Naomh Eamann), Holly Cuddy (Camross), Sarah Guilfoyle (Naomh Eamann), Caoimhe Delaney (Camross), Aoife Delaney (Clonad), Ella Cuddy (Camross), Leah Rice (Camross)

SEE ALSO – WATCH: Relive all the penalty shoot out drama from the Laois and Kildare O’Byrne Cup semi final

Previous articlePROFILED: The Portlaoise Panthers players vying for U-20 National Cup glory
Next articleCalls for HGVs to stay out of small towns as survey shows 30,000 come through Laois each year to avoid tolls