Home Sport GAA Captain Cahill and classy Keane lead the way as Scoil Chriost Ri...

Captain Cahill and classy Keane lead the way as Scoil Chriost Ri claim Leinster U-14 ‘A’ football glory

Scoil Chriost Ri U-14 Leinster winners

Scoil Chriost Ri 4-11 Moate CS 2-7
Leinster Ladies School’s U-14 ‘A’ Football Championship Final 

Scoil Chriost Ri were crowned Leinster U-14 ‘A’ champions following a ten point victory over Moate in Durrow this afternoon.

Captain Rebecca Cahill and midfielder Ellie Keane were to the fore throughout in a fantastic win for the school.

John Scully, Pat Critchley, Liam Whelehan and Niall Mahon manage this side and had them playing a lovely blend of attacking football.

The Portlaoise school played against the wind in the first half and although the Westmeath outfit opened with the first couple of points, Scoil Chriost Ri soon found their stride.

Rebecca Cahill struck for a first half hat-trick while Ailbhe Carroll, Anna Mulligan and Sarah McDonald also added points.

Eva Fox scored a goal for Moate but Scoil Chriost Ri led 3-5 to 1-6 at half time.

With the wind at their backs, Scoil Chriost Ri pushed on at the start of the second half with the excellent Ellie Keane getting on the scoreboard – a reward for all of her hard work throughout.

Moate did grab a second goal through Lauren White but Scoil Chriost Ri keeper Doireann Brennan pulled off a brilliant save midway through the second half which kept her side ahead.

Cahill then turned provider for the game’s sixth goal when she made a great turnover in a dangerous place and Ailbhe Carroll pounced to finish well.

Moate kept going but Scoil Chriost Ri’s movement was the difference as they won well in the end.

SCORERS – Scoil Chriost Ri: Rebecca Cahill 3-1, Ailbhe Carroll 1-5 (two frees), Anna Mulligan 0-3 (two frees), Ellie Keane and Sarah McDonald 0-1 each MOATE CS: Alex Kelly 0-5 (four frees), Eva Fox and Lauren White 1-1 each

SCOIL CHRIOST RI: Doireann Brennan (Portlaoise); Clodagh Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska), Faye Byrne (Portlaoise), Kate Moloney (The Heath); Aine Nolan (Park-Ratheniska), Roisin Murphy (Portlaoise), Lara Culleton (Portlaoise); Katie Grant (The Heath), Ellie Keane (The Heath); Sarah McDonald (Portlaoise), Anna Muilligan (Portlaoise), Hannah McNamee (The Heath); Ailbhe Carroll (Portlaoise), Rebecca Cahill (Portlaoise), Chloe Byrne (Portlaoise). Subs: Ava Dempsey (Timahoe) for Nolan, Aoibheann Burke (Timahoe) for Moloney, Grainne Buggy (Timahoe) for McNamee, Ellen Bergin (Portlaoise) for McDonald, Ella Byrne (The Heath) for Byrne

MOATE CS: Emily Nally; Ava Gahan, Aoife Ross, Grace Shortall; Ava Cuff, Lauren Fox, Aine Bracken; Alex Kelly, Neasa Trainor; Karrissa Burns, Lauren White, Kara Stenson; Clodagh Kelly, Eva Fox, Katie Ann McHugh

SEE ALSO – Check out all our coverage of the Laois minor hurlers here

Previous articleMagical start to new flat season for Laois trainer with four winners on the board
Next articleLaois Youthreach play their part for Daffodil Day as cake sale proves big success