Home Sport GAA Two Laois lads set to feature as TG4’s Underdogs to take on...

Two Laois lads set to feature as TG4’s Underdogs to take on Waterford in Davy Fitzgerald’s return

The Underdogs will be taking on the winners of the 2022 Allianz National Hurling League, Waterford – and two Laois lads will be involved.

The match will be played in SETU Arena, Waterford, under lights on Saturday October 29 at 8pm and will air live on TG4.

The panel for the match has been announced and two Laois lads have made the cut – Colin Palmer of Camross and Shane Phelan from Castletown.

This will be the debut game for returning Waterford manager Davy Fitzgerald, as he takes charge of the Deise for the second time.

The Underdogs are managed by John Allen, Claire O’Connor and Jamie Wall.

The Underdogs is a unique group of hurlers, assembled from different clubs all across the country.

The only rule is that the hurlers have never played at Liam McCarthy Cup level.

Over the course of the Underdogs series, viewers have followed the players over their six-month journey as they prepare for the match of their lives.

They have seen their trials and tribulations, as well as hearing their incredible stories of tragedy and triumph.

Now, after an intense period of preparation and training they are ready to face the Allianz National Hurling League champions, Waterford.

Tickets to attend the game are on sale from Thurs 20th October 9:45pm, to purchase go to: WWW.TG4.IE/UNDERDOGS

Underdogs panel

Aaron Smiley St Brigids GAC Cloughmills Antrim
Cian Moore CLG Droichead an Chláirín Galway
Cian O’Rourke Wolfe Tones Na Sionna Clare
Cillian O Fionngusha Clonlara Clare
Colin Palmer Camross GAA Club Laois
Conor Floyd Newport GAA Tipperary
Dan Cunnane Ogonnelloe Clare
Darren Kelly Uibh Laoire Cork
Dave Ryan Rose Ballinahinch GAA Tipperary
Eric Finn Round Towers Clondalkin Dublin
Evan McMahon Feakle GAA Clare
Jack Kenny Kilnadeema/Leitrim GAA Galway
Joe Millerick Fr O’Neills Cork
John Casey Setanta GAA Ballymun Dublin
Karl Murray Longford Slashers GAA Club Longford
Martin Kelly Blacks and Whites GAA Club Kilkenny
Naoise De Bhaldraithe Dublin Cuala
Oisín Ó Dúnaigh CLG na Rinne Waterford
Paul Fagan Kildalkey gaa Meath
Philip O’Brien St. Patrick’s Stamullen Meath
Reece Gavin Moorefield Kildare
Robert O’Donnell Pallasgreen Limerick
Seamus Barry Passage East Hurling Waterford
Seamus Hoctor Southern Gaels Westmeath
Sean Buggy Erin’s Own Kilkenny Kilkenny
Shane Lawler Rathnure St Anne’s Gaa Club Wexford
Shane Phelan Castletown Laois
Stephen Guilfoyle Edenderry Offaly
Tom Stafford Naomh Éanna Wexford
Tommy Barry Kilmaley Clare
Tommy Foley Raparees/Starlights Wexford

SEE ALSO – Laois teenager finishes third in Miss Bikini Ireland national contest