Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Extra-time purple patch for The Heath seals the Roinn 3 title against...

Extra-time purple patch for The Heath seals the Roinn 3 title against Ballyadams

The Heath side that claimed the Roinn 3 title over Ballyadams this evening.
Ballyadams 2-17  The Heath 6-2
Laois Cumann na mBunscol Roinn 3 Hurling Championship

The Heath opened up a good lead when Sean Kirby rattled the back of the Ballyadams’s net and PJ Larkin followed up with a point. Ballyadams responded well when Killian Fitzpatrick lashed the net with a fine effort.

PJ Larkin then extended The Heath’s lead with another good goal, which was then followed up by a Paddy Fitzpatrick point. Ballyadams’ Darragh Farrell then scored a cracking goal when he pulled first time on a clearance from Daniel Aghedo. But The Heath responded with three points from PJ Larkin and Paddy Fitzpatrick before Killian Fitzpatrick ended the scoring with a point to leave it 2-5 to 2-1 at the break.

The second half started well for Ballyadams when Killian Fitzpatrick found the goals, but PJ Larkin settled The Heath with a good point. Eoin Johnson and Darragh Farrell then turned the game on its head with two fine goals. That left Ballyadams two up with time running out.

The Heath managed to pull level through David Brown and PJ Larkin who both pointed. Ballyadams then stole the lead with a Darragh Farrell free and it all seemed over but up stepped the impressive PJ Larkin who landed a last minute free to draw the game level and force extra-time.

Ballyadams, who lost out to The Heath today in the Roinn 3 final.

In the first half of extra-time, The Heath established a strong lead as they added three unanswered points through Mark Carroll, PJ Larkin and Sean Kirby. Holding a three point lead heading into the second half of extra-time, The Heath then added three more through PJ Larkin and Sean Kirby. A last minute Eoin Johnson goal was not enough for Ballyadams as The Heath ran out 2-17 to 6-2 winners.

SCORERS: Ballyadams: Killian Fitzpatrick 2-1, Darragh Farrell 2-1, Eoin Johnson 2-0 The Heath: PJ Larkin 1-11, Sean Kirby 1-2, Paddy Fitzpatrick 0-2, David Brown 0-1, Mark Carroll 0-1.

BALLYADAMS: Reese O’Halloran, Mickey Muprhy, Jack Deegan, Eoin Johnston, Jamie O’Brien, Darragh Farrell, Killian Fitzpatrick, Same Lynch, Michael Dempsey, Callum Delaney, Jamie Delaney, Daniel Jones.

THE HEATH: Daniel Aghedo, Jack Keyes, Patrick O’Callaghan, Cillian O’Connell, Mark Carroll, PJ Larkin, Paddy Fitzpatrick, Sean Kirby, David Brown, Darragh Walker, Tadhg Whelan, Kurt Kavanagh, John MacNamara, Odhran Phelan, Aiden Grace, Jack Heffernan, Johnny Phelan.

SEE ALSO – 20 reasons we all remember the Cumann na mBunscol