Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Goals galore as Ballyroan claim the Roinn 4 Hurling Shield

Goals galore as Ballyroan claim the Roinn 4 Hurling Shield

The Ballyroan side that just pipped Shanahoe in the Roinn 4 Shield Final
Ballyroan 5-7   Shanahoe 6-2
Laois Cumann na mBunscol Roinn 4 Hurling Shield

Ballyroan were able to hold off a brave Shanahoe comeback to win the Roinn 4 Hurling Shield title. Leading by a point at the break, Ballyroan established an eight point lead, but they were pegged back with just minutes remaining but two late goals handed them the win.

The game looked to be a one sided affair early on as Ballyroan went 2-1 to 0-1 ahead thanks to goals from Odhran Dunne and Lee Palmer, but Killian O’Keefe and Dion Cuddy struck twice to leave it 2-4 to 2-1 at the break.

Again Ballyroan started the second half much the brighter as the established an eight point lead over Shanahoe, which was helped by a fine Odhran Dunne goal. But luck seemed to be on Shanahoe’s side as Dion Cuddy landed a monstrous goal from his own puck-out, catching Evan McWey in goals.

Just minutes later, he landed another great goal from a long range free and it seemed a full momentum swing had taken place. The two goals were sandwiched between some excellent points by Shanahoe and they now held a six point lead.

Shanahoe, whose come back just fell short against Ballyroan in the Roinn 4 Shield final

But Ballyroan hadn’t yet thrown the towel in and a Jack O’Dea goal, followed by Stephen O’Donnell’s finely take goal drew them level and with just seconds on the clock, O’Dea slotted the winner and giving the title to Ballyroan.

Scorers: Ballyroan: Odhran Dunne 2-0, Jack O’Dea 1-2, Lee Palmer 1-1, Stephen O’Donnell 1-1, Jake Keane 0-3.  Shanahoe: Dion Cuddy 3-1, Killian O’Keefe 2-0, Eoin Drennan 1-0, Tommy Ward 0-1.

BALLYROAN: Evan McWey, James Walker, Lee Palmer, Stephen O’Donnell, Jack O’Dea, Jake Keane, Odhran Dunne, Josh Cox, Billy O’Sullivan, Brian Carroll, Conleth Murphy, Bill Brennan.

SHANAHOE: Mark Bergin, Dion Cuddy, Padraig Carroll, Tommy Ward, Tim Drennan, Killian O’Keefe, Eoin Drennan, Jamie Shiel, Steven Merriman, Cathal Bergin, Michael Bergin, Matthew Melvin, Josh Delaney.

SEE ALSO – 20 reasons we all remember the Cumann na mBunscol