Home GAA Cumann na mBunscol Brennan leads Clough to Roinn 1 Hurling glory

Brennan leads Clough to Roinn 1 Hurling glory

Clough, who captured the Roinn 1 Hurling title today.
Cullohill 2-5  Clough 2-12
Laois Cumann na mBunscol Roinn 1 Hurling Final

The first half got off to a fast start as both teams flew into tackles, pounced on breaking balls and fought for every inch. The opening score came from stick of Justin Duggan, and that was followed up by an Eoghan Delaney point.

Thomas Brennan then struck three points in a row to give Clough the lead before Liam Kirby added a point for Cullohill to level it. Cormac Hogan slotted a good score, before Cullohill’s Liam Kirby rattled the net following a neat pick up.

Thomas Brennan levelled the game with two more points, and that left it 0-6 to 1-3 at the break.

Joseph Pearson added a point for Clough after the break, and what followed was a spree of scoring that clinched the title for Clough. It began with two Thomas Brennan points, and then Cormac Hogan pounced on a mistake at the back from Cullohill to open up a five point lead.

Cullohill, who were beaten by Clough in today’s Roinn 1 Hurling final

Thomas Brennan added two more points, followed by a classy point from full back, Gary Whelan and then the icing goal was added by Frank Hyland. Liam Kirby, who impressed for Cullohill throughout, scored two points in the second half, and he got well deserved goal at the end but it would not be enough as Clough ran out seven point winners.

Scorers – Cullohill: Liam Kirby 2-3, Justin Duggan 0-1, Eoghan Delaney 0-1 Clough: Thomas Brennan 1-9, Cormac Hogan 1-1, Joseph Pearson 0-1, Frank Hyland 1-0, Gary Whelan 0-1.

Martin Drennan, Cormac Dunne, Jack Dunphy, Donal Deegan, Will Duggan, Justin Duggan, Eoghan Delaney, Liam Kirby, Ross Deegan, James Brennan, Ned Duggan, Simon Comerford, Colin Saunders, Aaron Mahon, John Delahunty, Jimmy Whyte, Aaron Carey, Ethan Lafferty, Rory Walsh, Kevin Lalor, Ciaran Walsh, Lee O’Donoghue.

CLOUGH: Peter Rafter, Jim Hyland, Gary Whelan, Cormac Hogan, Joseph Pearson, Kevin Meade, Thomas Brennan, Colm Brennan, Frank Hyland, David Fitzpatrick, Finnan Curran, Sean Hayes, Darragh McEvoy, Killian Murphy, Jack Keane,

SEE ALSO – 20 reasons we all remember the Cumann na mBunscol