Home GAA Camogie St Brigid’s crowned minor camogie champions after eight-point triumph over Camross

St Brigid’s crowned minor camogie champions after eight-point triumph over Camross

St Brigid’s 0-14 Camross 1-3
Laois Minor Camogie Final

St Brigid’s were crowned Laois Minor Camogie Champions after an eight-point victory over Camross at the LOETB Centre of Excellence this afternoon.

The game began as a tight affair, when Áine Cuddy landed Camross’ first point, but a free from Jessie Quinlan brought it back to a level game again.

Kirsten Keenan nudged Camross back in front with a free, but two consecutive points from Tiegan Bowe put St Brigid’s back ahead approaching the fifteen minute mark.

Cathy Galbraith extended St Brigid’s advantage to three with two consecutive points. Quinlan converted her second free to leave St Brigid’s carrying a four-point lead into half-time, 0-06 to 0-02.

St Brigid’s picked up in the second-half right where they left off in the first, two more points from Galbraite and a long run ending in a point from Bowe gave St Brigid’s an eight-point lead entering the final ten minutes.

Andrea Scully grabbed Camross’ third point of the day, but another free from Quinlan kept St Brigid’s firmly in control.

Scully managed to get the first goal of the game when she raced through the St Brigid’s defence and converted one past Emma Dunphy to bring it back to a six-point game, but points from Zoe Daly, Galbraite and a free from Quinlan ensured an eight point win for St Brigid’s.

SCORERS – St Brigid’s: Cathy Galbraith 0-6, Jessie Quinlan 0-4 (all frees), Tiegan Bowe 0-3, Zoe Daly 0-1. Camross: Andrea Scully 1-1, Kirsten Keenan 0-1 (free), Áine Cuddy 0-1

CAMROSS: Aedin Lowry, Tríona Chambers, Fiona Scully, Isobelle Donnery, Leanne Dowling, Luisne Delaney, Leah Daly, Grainne Delaney, Cora Cuddy, Chloe O’Riordan, Kira Bannon, Laura Drennan, Andrea Scully, Kirsten Keenan, Áine Cuddy

ST BRIGID’S: Emma Dunphy, Holly Bowe, Aoife Finlay, Emma Jane Coss, Emily Carroll, Clodagh Tynan, Aoife Carroll, Shona Jones, Jessie Quinlan, Alanna Tynan, Gemma Hoare, Aíva Coss, Tiegan Bowe, Zoe Daly, Cathy Galbraith Subs: Emily McCane for Zoe Daly, Enya Carroll for Aíva Coss

REFEREE: Padraig Dunne (Colt)

SEE ALSO – Seven Talking Points as Laois footballers lose O’Byrne Cup opener to Offaly