Home News Laois Inter-School debating glory for Portlaoise CBS

Laois Inter-School debating glory for Portlaoise CBS

The Laois Inter-School Debating Cup took place Monday night in Mountmellick Library hosted by Mary Jo McCane.

St. Mary’s CBS Portlaoise came out with a unanimous win over a very talented Heywood team comprised of Heather Murray, Ciara Brennan, Kate Shanahan and Rachel Foley.

Captain Thomas Dunne, Jack Delaney, John Davis and Cian MacGearailt opposed the motion that “In the decade of centenaries, this house asserts that the challenges that Ireland faces today are more daunting than those faced by Irish people 100 years ago”.

The chairperson was Ann-Marie Kelly and the judges were P.J. Phelan, Mary Davis, Rebecca Gillespie, Des Sutton, Sheila Lutrell and Eugene McDonough.

The judges were full of praise for the CBS students.

Cian MacGearailt cleaned up, scooping the Best Individual Speaker in the county out of 12 contestants.

Ms. Deirdre Carroll is thrilled that all their hard work has paid off. Congratulations to all involved.

Check out some pictures below:

SEE ALSO – Plans unveiled for brand new primary school in Laois

Previous articleBREAKING: Laois Camogie team to compete in 2020
Next articleMeet your candidates: What is the biggest issue in their Constituency?
Megan is currently studying English and New Media at the University of Limerick. A Raheen native, she's happiest when talking sport, especially soccer but just don't mention the 2019 champions league final