Home News Sinn Fein’s Ryan in pole position in Kildare South after first count

Sinn Fein’s Ryan in pole position in Kildare South after first count

Sinn Fein’s Patricia Ryan is on course for election in the Kildare South constituency.

Voters from Portarlington, Killenard and Ballybrittas took part in this constituency after they were moved here in 2016.

The first count results are as follows:

Cathal Berry (IND) 5,742 Suzanne Doyle (FF) 3,580, Linda Hayden (SD) 1,338, Martin Heydon (FG) 8,069, Ronan Maher (GP) 1,639, Fiona McLoughlin-Healy (IND) 3,616, Anita Mhic Gib (AON) 697, Fiona O’Loughlin (FF) 5,927, Patricia Ryan (SF) 10,155, Roisin Ui Bhroin (SOL-PBP) 598, Mark Wall (Lab) 5,899

With the quota at 11,816, it will take a couple of counts to get the first election here.

Roisin Ui Bhroin and Anita Mhic Gib have now been eliminated from the race and their votes will be redistributed.

After Ryan, Fianna Fail’s Fiona O’Loughlin and Fine Gael’s Martin Heydon are the most likely to fill the remaining two seats.

SEE ALSO – LIVE BLOG: Follow all of our coverage from Day 1 of the General Election count in Laois-Offaly and Kildare South

Previous articleELECTED: Brian Stanley tops the poll in Laois-Offaly on first count
Next articleCowen labels Sinn Fein vote a ‘costly punt’ by voters
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.