Home Politics Local Elections ELECTED: Ben Brennan and Aisling Moran take final Graiguecullen-Portarlington seats

ELECTED: Ben Brennan and Aisling Moran take final Graiguecullen-Portarlington seats

Brought to you in association with People First Credit Union

Independent Ben Brennan and Fine Gael’s Aisling Moran have taken the final two seats in the Graiguecullen-Portarlington Municipal in the 7th Count.

Independent Brennan is returned for a third term while Aisling Moran is in for the first time and takes the seat vacated by her dad John who retired.

Fine Fael’s Vivienne Phelan was eliminated on the final count and her transfers saw Brennan go over the quota with 1,525.

Aisling Moran did not reach the quota of 1,452 but she was elected as the gap between her and Eoin Barry was greater than the surplus available from transfers from Ben Brennan.

This came almost 24 hours after Paschal McEvoy claimed the fourth seat in the early hours of this morning. 

Padraig Fleming (Fianna Fáil), Aidan Mullins (Sinn Féin) and Tom Mulhall (Fine Gael) were elected to the Portarlington-Graiguecullen Municipal area in the first count.

With 309 votes to be distributed from Fleming’s vote, fellow Fianna Fáil man Paschal fared well – earning 79 votes.

The line up is now as follows for the next five years: Padraig Fleming (FF), Paschal McEvoy (FF), Tom Mulhall (FG), Ben Bre

SEE ALSO – LIVE BLOG: Follow all of the action from Day 3 of the Local Election count

Previous articleELECTED: Ballyroan woman Mary Sweeney takes sixth seat in Portlaoise area
Next articleELECTED: Thomasina secures major gain for Fine Gael in Portlaoise with final seat
Stradbally native Alan Hartnett is a graduate of Knockbeg College who has worked in the local and national media since 2008. Alan has a BA in Economics, Politics and Law and an MA in Journalism from DCU. His happiest moment was when Jody Dillon scored THAT goal in the Laois senior football final in 2016.